4th Plinth, Antony Gormley, Mark Lawson & Willo in Trafalgar Square


Gormley, Lawson & Willo

Gormley, Lawson & Willo

Tempus fugit! I can’t believe that it’s a week since Lyn and I were back in Trafalgar Square for the last day of the Plinth. We arrived just before dawn to the very colourful sight of the penultimate figure adorning the plinth with pink balloons in support of breast cancer care.

The final person to appear was Emma Burns, telling us a little about each of the 96 fans who died at, or as a result of, the Hillsborough Stadium tragedy, as she freed a red balloon for each one of them. As a Scouser (even though I only spent my first few weeks there, I’m proud to be a Liverpudlian), I was deeply touched by the disaster and was studying at Liverpool Poly at the time, so was close to it and the sorrow that overwhelmed the city.

I was hoping to catch up with the homeless guys who made my hour on the plinth so enjoyable. Indeed some of them were there, but not the one I had a dialogue with and I was really looking forward to having a ground level conversation with him, instead of us yelling to each other, him on the ground and me towering above (now there’s a first!).

It was good to catch up with Mark Lawson too, as it was he who selected my painting Lunch at the Natural History Museum (Darwin Ponders Evolution) for the 2004 Discerning Eye Exhibition at the Mall Galleries.

I hadn’t really thought about going for the reunion next year, but judging by my conversations with the homeless people, they are really looking forward to it, so I may go. I gather the whole event has brought much colour and enjoyment to their lives and I’m guessing they are feeling rather lost now that it is all over. They seem to have an amazing community and are very supportive of each other.

In the square I met the beautiful ‘Lady Godiva’, who, I can report, is just as attractive with her clothes on! She very kindly allowed me to take her photo.

Both Lyn and I are so glad we went and Lyn was able to take her first look around the British Museum – or should I say a few of the rooms, as it is so vast and would take more than an afternoon to look around. And what a delight to be able to travel around London free on our OAP bus passes!

Mark Lawson chats to Willo

Mark Lawson chats to Willo

Antony Gormley

Antony Gormley

Leave a Reply

